TeleGeography Logo

Russia plans to award frequencies to operators in occupied Ukrainian territories

13 Dec 2022

Russia’s State Commission for Radio Frequencies (SCRF) reportedly plans to formally allocate mobile frequencies to Russian-backed network operators in occupied territories of Ukraine, namely parts of the Zaporozhye and Kherson regions currently under Russian military occupation and the self-proclaimed People’s Republics of Donetsk and Luhansk (DPR and LPR). According to TelecomDaily citing an RBC article, the companies to be licensed are named as MirTelecom, Mobile Communications Systems (Luhansk), K-Telecom (an established Crimean network operator using the WIN Mobile brand) and separatist-owned DPR operator Phoenix (Feniks). GSM/UMTS/LTE spectrum is reportedly set to be offered in the 700MHz, 800MHz, 900MHz, 1800MHz, 2100MHz and 2600MHz bands.

TeleGeography notes that LPR separatist authorities transferred the mobile operations of Lugansk Communications (Lugacom) – launched in 2015 – to the newly established Mobile Communications Systems (’MKS’) on 1 July 2022 – claiming ‘one million active subscribers’ at that date (unconfirmed). Lugacom continues to operate as a wholesale internet network provider. LPR and DPR networks have used the Russian numbering prefix ‘7’ since May for mobile and August for fixed telephony.

GlobalComms Database

Want more? Peruse the GlobalComms Database—the most complete source of intel about mobile, fixed broadband, and fixed voice markets.


TeleGeography is the definitive source for telecom news, numbers, and analysis. Explore the full research catalog.