TeleGeography Logo

All US states, territories sign up to ‘Internet for All’ initiative

15 Jul 2022

The Department of Commerce’s National Telecommunications and Information Administration (NTIA) has announced that all 50 US states, the District of Columbia and all unincorporated US territories have confirmed their participation in the Biden-Harris administration’s ‘Internet for All’ initiative, as announced in May. Going forward, the USD42.45 billion ‘Broadband Equity, Access, and Deployment (BEAD)’ programme will enable all states and territories to expand fixed broadband access by funding planning, infrastructure deployment and adoption initiatives.

US Secretary of Commerce Gina Raimondo commented: ‘The Department of Commerce is committed to ensuring all Americans have access to the internet, which is vital for our economic future. Beyond access, we also must enable meaningful internet use and provide people with tools to participate in education and training, access health care, and thrive in the digital economy. The Internet for All initiative will help states and territories accomplish both goals.’

Note: in total, President Biden’s Bipartisan Infrastructure Law, also known as the Infrastructure Investment and Jobs Act, has committed USD65 billion to ensure all Americans have access to affordable, reliable internet access.

American Samoa, Guam, Northern Mariana Islands, Puerto Rico, United States, Virgin Islands (U.S.), National Telecoms and Information Administration (NTIA)

GlobalComms Database

Want more? Peruse the GlobalComms Database—the most complete source of intel about mobile, fixed broadband, and fixed voice markets.


TeleGeography is the definitive source for telecom news, numbers, and analysis. Explore the full research catalog.