TeleGeography Logo

Digi confirms 3G shutdown timeline

26 Nov 2021

Malaysian mobile operator Digi has issued a 3G network shutdown timeline, which will commence on 6 December and conclude by the end of the month. According to a schedule posted on the telco’s website, the process will start in the Eastern Region, with networks deactivated in the states of Kelantan, Pahang and Terengganu on 6 December. Sabah is next in line (13 December), followed by the Southern states of Johor, Melaka and Negri Sembilan on 16 December. 3G networks will be switched off in the Northern States (Kedah, Perak, Perlis and Penang) on 20 December, with the Central states (Selangor and Wilayah Persekutuan, including Putrajaya) following on 22 December. Sarawak will be the final location to lose 3G access, with networks going dark on 30 December. All affected customers are being urged to upgrade to 4G-enabled SIM cards and VoLTE-capable smartphones.

TeleGeography notes that the 3G shutdown process forms part of the government’s Jalinan Digital Negara (JENDELA) programme. Mobile operators have been ordered to abolish 3G services by the end of 2021 and ensure that all citizens have access to 4G connectivity.

Rival operator Celcom commenced its own phased 3G shutdown process on 25 October.

Malaysia, (CelcomDigi) Digi

GlobalComms Database

Want more? Peruse the GlobalComms Database—the most complete source of intel about mobile, fixed broadband, and fixed voice markets.


TeleGeography is the definitive source for telecom news, numbers, and analysis. Explore the full research catalog.