Four North Macedonian operators interested in 5G spectrum

14 Jul 2021

The Agency for Electronic Communications (AEK) has received four expressions of interest (EoI) from telecoms operators for participation in the planned auction for 5G spectrum. The EoI are as follows:

Neotel: blocks В41, В44, В45 and В46 (3.4315GHz-3.460GHz), suitable for fixed services in regions 1 (Skopije, Ilinden, Petrovets, Zelenikovo, Studenichani, Sopishte, Chucher Sandevo and Arachinovo), 4 (Bitola, Prilep, Demir Hisar, Krushevo, Dolneni, Krivogashtani, Mogila, Novaci and Resen), 5 (Ohrid, Struga, Debarca, Vevchani, Kichevo, M. Brod, Drugovo, Zajac, Oslomej, Vraneshtica, Plasnica, Debar and Centar Jupa) and 6 (Tetovo, Gostivar, Tearce, Jegunovce, Jelino, Brvenica, Bogovinje, Mavrovo and Rostushe)

Bitstream Mobile: blocks А1 (703MHz-713MHz/758MHz-768MHz) and В1 (3.5GHz-3.6GHz)

А1 Macedonia: А2 (713MHz-723MHz/768MHz-778MHz), А3 (723MHz-733MHz/778MHz-788MHz), В2 (3.6GHz-3.7GHz) and В3 (3.7GHz-3.8GHz)

Makedonski Telekom: В2 (3.6GHz-3.7GHz), А2 (713MHz-723MHz/768MHz-778MHz) and/or А3 (723MHz-733MHz/778MHz-788MHz)

The agency plans to grant three approvals for spectrum in the 700MHz band, seven approvals for airwaves in the 3.6GHz band and four approvals for spectrum in the 26GHz band. The authorisations will be valid for 15 years (extendable for another five years afterwards), with starting prices of EUR6 million (USD7.1 million) for 700MHz airwaves, EUR3 million (3.6GHz) and EUR300,000 (26GHz). Under the licences’ terms and conditions, at least one major city must be covered by 5G technology by 2023, in order to allow 5G coverage in all major urban areas and terrestrial transport routes by 2027. By the end of 2029, 100% of population must have access to 5G signal with minimum downlink of 100Mbps.