DITO publishes full list of areas covered for 8 March launch

2 Mar 2021

The Philippines’ new third telco, DITO Telecommunity, has published a list of the 15 areas where it will begin offering 4G and 5G SIM cards when its commercial launch takes place on 8 March. The full list is as follows:

• Metro Cebu – Carcar City, Cebu City, Consolacion, Danao City, Liloan, Mandaue City, Minglanilla, Naga City, San Fernando and Talisay City

• Metro Davao – Panabo City, Tagum City, Carmen, Davao City and Digos City.

The newcomer says it will look to expand into other areas in the coming months as it targets being able to provide nationwide coverage by mid-2021. In another interesting development, meanwhile, the firm’s chief administrative officer Adel Tamano has said that DITO plans to venture into the broadband market by 2022.

As previously reported by CommsUpdate, last month Tamano confirmed that initially, DITO would be launching in Mindanao – describing it a ‘sentimental’ decision to honour the company’s origin (the company was originally called Mislatel or Mindanao Islamic Telephone before being renamed DITO). However, it appears its low-key ‘humble’ launch will be slightly more humble than first indicated, given that Tamano had earlier stated that 17 cities and nearby municipalities in Mindanao and Visayas would have DITO telco services on 8 March.

Philippines, DITO Telecommunity Corp (formerly Mislatel)