Commerce Commission sets Telecommunications Development Levy contributions

4 Dec 2020

The Commerce Commission has released its final determination on the allocation of payments for the government’s NZD10 million (USD7.07 million) Telecommunications Development Levy (TDL) for the period covering 1 July 2019 to 30 June 2020. The TDL is paid by providers earning more than NZD10 million per year from telecommunications services, including internet, mobile and data services, and is used to pay for telecommunications infrastructure and services that are not commercially viable, such as the relay service for the deaf and hearing-impaired, broadband for rural areas, and improvements to the 111 emergency service.

The allocations are unchanged from the amounts proposed in the draft determination. Collectively Spark (33.84%), Vodafone (26.40%), Chorus, (21.07%) and 2degrees (8.72%) will pay approximately 90% of the NZD10 million levy, with the remainder divided among other liable providers. The amount each liable provider pays is proportionate to their telecommunications revenue.