DNA 5G covers 31 cities, 27% of Finns

23 Nov 2020

DNA Finland, the country’s third largest mobile operator by subscribers, has announced the latest five cities to receive its commercial 5G network coverage: Jarvenpaa, Kerava, Tuusula, Kaarina and Naantali. In each case the new network covers ‘most of the city centre areas’, it noted, also highlighting that the network upgrades will significantly strengthen its 4G network.

DNA’s 5G services are now available in a total of 31 cities/municipalities, including the five new locations alongside: Espoo, Heinola, Helsinki, Hyvinkaa, Hameenlinna, Jyvaskyla, Kauniainen, Kuopio, Lahti, Lieto, Nokia, Oulu, Pirkkala, Pori, Raahe, Raishe, Rauma, Rusko, Seinajoki, Sipoo, Tampere, Turku, Vaasa, Vantaa, Ylivieska and Ylojarvi. In addition to these 31 locations, DNA’s 5G network also reaches parts of 45 other municipalities, which it will add to its official 5G location list when it achieves substantial population coverage in each. DNA adds that it will extend the 5G network to Kangasala and Nurmijarvi in December 2020.

DNA’s 3.5GHz band 5G non-standalone (NSA) network was launched in January 2020, covering over one million people in 24 municipalities by September. The operator’s latest press release states that its 5G coverage will exceed 1.5 million Finns (approximately 27% of the population) before the end of November.

Finland, DNA Finland