Verizon launches ‘nationwide’ 5G via DSS; extends mmWave 5G to 55 cities

14 Oct 2020

Verizon Wireless has announced that it has activated a new ‘nationwide’ 5G service, covering 200 million people in 1,800 towns and cities across the US. The new network utilises Dynamic Spectrum Sharing (DSS) technology, which allows 5G to run simultaneously on the same spectrum band as 4G. Verizon has not disclosed which of its 4G bands is being used, but the cellco uses 700MHz, 1900MHz (PCS) and 1700MHz/2100MHz (AWS) bands for 4G.

Note: while large parts of the country still lack access to 5G technology, the rollout meets the Federal Communications Commission (FCC) definition of nationwide coverage, which is 200 million people served. Both T-Mobile US and AT&T Communications have previously used the same criteria to support claims of nationwide 5G connectivity.

In a parallel development, Verizon has confirmed that it has extended its existing millimetre wave (mmWave)-based 5G network to a total of 55 cities. New locations served include: Arlington, TX; Las Vegas, NV; San Francisco, CA; Ann Arbor, MI; Louisville, KY; Sarasota, FL; Anaheim, CA; Milwaukee, WI; St. Louis, MO; Baltimore, MD; Oklahoma City, OK; Syracuse, NY; Fort Wayne, IN; Philadelphia, PA; Tucson, AZ; Hartford, CT; Raleigh, NC; Jersey City, NJ; and Richmond, VA. Verizon notes that in some cities it has combined eight separate channels of mmWave spectrum to achieve peak download speeds of up to 4Gbps.

According to TeleGeography’s GlobalComms Database, on 3 April 2019 Verizon switched on its ‘5G Ultra Wideband’ network in select areas of Minneapolis and Chicago – a week ahead of schedule – as it sought to secure global 5G bragging rights over South Korea’s mobile operators.

United States, Verizon Wireless