Rogers doubles 5G cities/towns to 130; launches Dynamic Spectrum Sharing

14 Oct 2020

Canada’s Rogers Communications has doubled the number of settlements covered by its 5G mobile network to 130, ranging from small towns to major metropolitan areas, claiming the expansion makes its 5G coverage ‘ten times’ wider than its rivals’ current footprints. Rogers noted that the regional enlargement of its Ericsson-powered non-standalone (NSA) 5G network – initially launched in March 2020 – was timed to support the latest 5G device releases. The operator says that more than two million subscribers are now on 5G-ready Rogers Infinite and Rogers for Business Shared Unlimited Data tariffs.

Regionally speaking, Rogers now offers 5G in 38 towns/cities in Ontario province after expanding to 13 additional communities including Cornwall, London and Niagara-on-the-Lake. 24 additional settlements in British Columbia gained access to Rogers 5G – including Whistler, Saanich and Squamish – taking that province’s total to 51. In Alberta, the 5G service now reaches 34 towns/cities, having expanded to 29 more communities including Banff, Canmore and Medicine Hat. In a previous announcement in late September, Rogers claimed the first 5G launch in Atlantic Canada, in Fredericton, New Brunswick province.

Rogers also disclosed that it has added 600MHz and AWS (1700MHz) band frequencies to its original 2.5GHz 5G commercial spectrum, having switched on Dynamic Spectrum Sharing (DSS) technology in a number of its new and existing 5G locations. DSS enables spectrum to be used for 4G LTE and 5G simultaneously in the 600MHz/AWS bands, with additional frequencies to be added in due course.

Canada, Ericsson, Rogers Communications