House of Representatives rubber stamps DITO’s 25-year franchise

25 Aug 2020

The Philippines’ House of Representatives yesterday (24 August) approved the renewal of DITO Telecommunity Corp’s operating franchise for another 25 years. The Dennis Uy-led group, formerly known as Mislatel, secured its franchise with 240 votes to seven, with no abstentions, allowing it to continue to ‘construct, install, establish, operate, and maintain wired and/or wireless telecommunications systems’ across the country. The so-called ‘New Major Player’ (NMP), which was anointed as the Philippines’ third telco in July 2019, is backed by Chelsea Logistics and Infrastructure Holdings Corp, Udenna Corp and China Telecom. Now renamed DITO Telecommunity, the NMP aims to begin commercial operations in March 2021.