CEMAC to eliminate roaming charges from next year

20 Aug 2020

The Central African Economic and Monetary Community (CEMAC) – comprising Cameroon, the Central African Republic, the Republic of the Congo, Gabon, Equatorial Guinea and Chad – has approved plans to eliminate roaming charges for mobile users travelling between member states, with effect from 1 January 2021. Representatives from the nations’ telecom ministries initially agreed to the proposals in February this year, and CEMAC’s council approved the programme on 10 August 2020. As such, from January next year users across the region will be charged their standard rates for making calls and sending messages whilst within CEMAC territory.

Cameroon, Central African Republic, Chad, Congo, Rep., Equatorial Guinea, Gabon