Uganda says telco share sales will be open to all East Africans

27 Jul 2020

The sale of a 20% stake in MTN Uganda will be restricted to Ugandans and other citizens of the East African Community (EAC), which covers Uganda, Burundi, Kenya, Rwanda, South Sudan and Tanzania, Reuters has reported. The Ugandan regulator included the share sale as part of conditions in newly issued telecoms licences for MTN and other local telcos, with sales to take place within two years.