FCC issues 5.9GHz spectrum to 33 wireless ISPs to support increased traffic

31 Mar 2020

The Federal Communications Commission (FCC) has announced that its Wireless Telecommunications Bureau has granted temporary spectrum access to 33 wireless internet service providers (WISPs) serving 330 counties in 29 states to help them serve rural communities during the COVID-19 pandemic. The Special Temporary Authority (STA) allows these companies to use the lower 45MHz of spectrum in the 5.9GHz band (5850MHz-5895MHz) for a period of 60 days.

The STAs will help serve communities in Arizona, California, Colorado, Florida, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Kansas, Kentucky, Massachusetts, Maryland, Maine, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, New Hampshire, New Mexico, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Texas, Virginia, Vermont, Washington, Wisconsin, and West Virginia.

An additional ISP, Broadband VI, which covers Saint Croix, Saint John and Saint Thomas in the US Virgin Islands, is also included in the FCC documentation.

United States, Virgin Islands (U.S.), Federal Communications Commission (FCC)