TeleGeography Logo

Bloc party: Mercosur nations to scrap international roaming charges

19 Jul 2019

Member states of the Mercosur (Southern Common Market) economic bloc – Brazil, Argentina, Uruguay and Paraguay – have approved the end of international roaming rates for voice and data communications, Brazil’s Ministry of Foreign Affairs has announced. The agreement is expected to come into force 30 days after being ratified by the relevant authorities in the four countries, the Ministry noted.

The Mercosur trade bloc was established by the Treaty of Asuncion in 1991 and the Protocol of Ouro Preto in 1994. (Note: Venezuela was suspended from Mercosur on 1 December 2016.)

GlobalComms Database

Want more? Peruse the GlobalComms Database—the most complete source of intel about mobile, fixed broadband, and fixed voice markets.


TeleGeography is the definitive source for telecom news, numbers, and analysis. Explore the full research catalog.