ENACOM extends rural 450MHz scheme to new locations

5 Jun 2019

Argentina’s National Communications Agency (Ente Nacional de Comunicaciones, ENACOM) has distributed 450MHz spectrum covering 126 new service areas across twelve provinces, as it seeks to improve rural connectivity. The locations set to benefit from this phase of the scheme have been named as: Chubut, Chaco, Catamarca, Jujuy, Mendoza, Neuquen, Rio Negro, Santa Cruz, Santiago del Estero, San Juan, Salta and Tucuman. Following the network rollouts – which will be carried out by small/medium-sized local providers – a total of 284,916 inhabitants will be able receive access to data services for the first time.

As previously reported by TeleGeography’s CommsUpdate, in May this year the watchdog distributed 450MHz spectrum covering eleven locations in the provinces of Santiago del Estero, Tierra del Fuego, Rio Negro, Santa Fe and Santa Cruz. The spectrum awards are understood to form part of the government’s Plan de Conectividad Rural (Rural Connectivity Plan).

Argentina, National Communications Agency (ENACOM)