Airtel switches on 4G in additional states

15 May 2019

Airtel Nigeria, the local mobile unit of Indian telecoms firm Bharti Airtel, has announced the expansion of its LTE network to Akwa Ibom State and Edo State, following 4G launches in Enugu and Uyo earlier this month. Airtel announced the commercial launch of LTE services in Ibadan in February 2018, using spectrum in the 1800MHz band. The network, which offers downlink speeds of between 35Mbps and 40Mbps, was expanded to a second city – Abuja – in May 2018 and reached around 60 towns and cities across 16 states by October 2018, including Lagos.

Nigeria, Airtel Nigeria