Uganda expands fibre backbone

14 May 2019

The government of Uganda has unveiled the fourth phase of its national fibre backbone project, bringing connectivity to the regions of West Nile and Karamoja. Districts covered by the rollout include Pakwach, Nebbi, Arua, Yumbe, Koboko, Adjumani, Katakwi, Oraba, Vurra and Mpondwe. The expansion also improves links to neighbouring countries South Sudan and the Democratic Republic of Congo (DRC).

The work is being carried out by the National Information Technology Authority of Uganda (NITA-U), a body which operates as part of the Ministry of ICT. NITA-U has previously connected 39 districts under the first three phases of its backbone rollout, offering access to government offices and public buildings such as schools and hospitals.