National roaming charges repealed from 1 June 2019

2 Jan 2019

In a key decision from late-December Russia’s State Duma (the lower house of the Federal Assembly) adopted a bill that repeals national mobile roaming charges. As per the bill, the ruling will take effect on 1 June 2019, meaning that subscribers travelling across Russia are guaranteed to receive the same tariffs, regardless of which region they are located in.

TeleGeography notes that 2018 saw Russia’s four national mobile operators all cancel on-net ‘domestic roaming’ charges for their own network users. Beeline was the first to remove the incoming call charges on 20 August 2018, followed by Tele2 on 27 August, MTS on 30 August and MegaFon on 1 September.