Benin officially joins ‘free roaming’ zone

7 Mar 2018

On 1 March 2018 Benin officially entered the ‘free mobile roaming zone’ established by fellow West African countries Senegal, Cote d’Ivoire, Guinea, Mali, Burkina Faso, Sierra Leone, Senegal and Togo. From now on, travelling Beninese in the above countries will benefit from outgoing calls billed at local rates, plus free incoming calls (currently capped at 300 incoming minutes per month).

The ‘free roaming’ project was initiated by Senegal in November 2016 and launched commercially in March 2017.