Regulators reduce roaming fees across four countries

5 Jul 2017

Prices for customers roaming between Serbia, Montenegro, Macedonia and Bosnia and Herzegovina were reduced on 1 July, in line with a 2014 agreement between the regulatory agencies of the respective nations. Serbian watchdog the Regulatory Agency for Electronic Communications and Postal Services (Regulatorna agencija za elektronske komunikacije i postanske usluge, RATEL) announced that retail prices for roaming within the region fell to EUR0.19 (USD0.22) per minute for outgoing calls, EUR0.05 per minute for incoming calls, EUR0.06 per SMS and EUR0.2 per MB for data usage.

As noted by TeleGeography’s GlobalComms Database, following the abolition of roaming frees across the EU in June this year, the telecom ministries of the four above-mentioned states penned a joint letter to the European Commission (EC), requesting that the measure be extended to their countries. Arguing their case, the missive pointed out that all four countries are currently seeking accession to the union and noted that the recent removal of roaming fees was applied to non-EU members including Norway, Iceland and Lichtenstein.

Bosnia-Herzegovina, Montenegro, North Macedonia, Serbia, Regulatory Agency for Electronic Communications (RATEL)