Claro PR extends LTE-A footprint to eight new municipalities

13 Jan 2017

Claro Puerto Rico has extended its LTE-Advanced (LTE-A) network to 28 new districts across the following eight municipalities: Rio Grande, Mayaguez, Ceiba, San Sebastian, Patillas, Jayuya, Sabana Grande and Hatillo. As previously reported by TeleGeography’s CommsUpdate, Claro’s 100Mbps LTE-A network was switched on in November 2016, covering a total of 30 (of 78) municipalities at launch. A further eleven areas were connected to the network on 1 December 2016, and eight more went live on 22 December. Claro now expects to offer nationwide LTE-A coverage by the end of 2017. It is believed that the new network aggregates spectrum in the 700MHz and 2100MHz/1700MHz AWS bands.

Puerto Rico, Claro Puerto Rico