Kenyan trio to pay USD25m each for 4G licences

28 Jun 2016

The technical committee of the Communications Authority of Kenya (CA) has approved the issuance of 4G spectrum licences to the country’s three incumbent mobile operators, the regulator’s director general Francis Wangusi told Business Daily. Safaricom, Airtel Kenya and Telkom Kenya will each be required to pay a fee of USD25 million for the 800MHz concessions, which will be awarded next month following final approval from the CA’s board. The trio will also be obliged to share at least 30% of their 4G network capacity with smaller players, including MVNOs and tier-two infrastructure providers. Mobile market leader Safaricom is currently the market’s sole provider of LTE services, which were launched on a limited basis in Nairobi and Mombasa in December 2014.