XL Axiata launches LTE in 1800MHz band in Surabaya and Denpasar

23 Sep 2015

Indonesia’s XL Axiata has become the first domestic cellco to introduce 4G LTE services in the 1800MHz band in the cities of Surabaya and Denpasar following their commercial launch yesterday (22 September). The latest rollout follows the launch of 1800MHz-based 4G services in Lombok in July, which was quickly followed by Bandung, with plans to add Jakarta by the end of the year. Thanks to an initial deployment of more than 200 4G-ready base transceiver stations (BTS), the full list of areas now covered in Surabaya is: Gubeng, Manyar, Pakuwon, Margorejo, Tambaksari, Wiyung, Kenjeran, Manukan Kulon to Sidoarjo and Rungkut. Meanwhile, XL Axiata says it has installed more than 250 BTS in Denpasar, covering the areas of Kuta, Denpasar, Kuta, Ubud, Bedugul and Sanur Nusa Dua. Going forward, XL Axiata says it is looking to expand its 4G footprint in both cities by continuing to add infrastructure. Since the start of the year the company has been offering users the opportunity to switch easily to its LTE services via a series of SIM exchange programmes under which they can have a 4G SIM card free of charge. Packages are offered under the branding ‘Hotrod 4G’.

Indonesia, XL Axiata