Four southern African states agree to cut international roaming costs

13 Aug 2015

Mobile operators in Botswana, Namibia, Zambia and Zimbabwe are to cut cross-border roaming fees as part of a pilot project due to be launched by 1 September. According to a report from the Namibian newspaper New Era, all cellcos in the four southern African countries have agreed to implement a glide path to reduce roaming tariffs. A statement from the Communications Regulatory Authority of Namibia (CRAN) has said that operators in any of the other eleven member states of the Southern African Development Community (SADC) will be eligible to join the pilot scheme if they apply before 1 October. According to CRAN, a recommendation will be made to the Communications Regulators’ Association of Southern Africa (CRASA) that a regional clearing house be established to ensure lower costs for roaming in the region.

Botswana, Namibia, Zambia, Zimbabwe, Communications Regulatory Authority of Namibia (CRAN)