End of the line for .an in Curacao

9 Oct 2014

The .an country code top-level domain (ccTLD) previously utilised by the Netherlands Antilles will be formally discontinued on 31 October, with the new .cw domain used in its place. Registration of .cw domains was made available from 1 February 2012, while the removal of inactive .an domain names started in earnest on 31 December 2013. The ccTLD is managed by the Computer Centre at the University of Curacao.

As previously reported by TeleGeography’s CommsUpdate, fellow former Netherlands Antilles territory Sint Maarten launched the .sx cctLD in March 2012. Although .sm was Sint Maarten’s preferred domain, it had already been assigned to San Marino. ‘Special municipalities’ Bonaire, Sint Eustatius and Saba have been assigned the .bq domain.