NBN fixed wireless network coverage expanded

6 Oct 2014

Some 5,500 farms, homes and businesses across Australia are now able to access the National Broadband Network via fixed wireless technology after the infrastructure went live in parts of 17 rural and regional communities. The locations where the network is now available are: Molong, Windera, Cowra, March, Orange, Stuart Town, Koorawatha, Bonville, Merriwa, West Wyalong, Culcairn, Junee, The Rock, Mangoplah, Young, Boyanup and Port Sorell. Announcing the development, NBN Co, the company overseeing the NBN project, noted that the fixed wireless footprint now covers more than 124,000 premises, of which 22,000 were accessing the internet over it.

Commenting on the latest rollout achievement, NBN Co spokesperson Tony Gibbs noted: ‘Today’s announcement highlights how the NBN is helping to close the digital divide in regional Australia – and with that comes many economic and social opportunities for local communities.

Australia, NBN Co