NCC declares 14 operators inactive

1 Jul 2014

A total of 14 licensed telecoms operators have been declared inactive by the Nigeria Communications Commission (NCC), which has now begun excluding their data from its quarterly subscriber reports. The defunct companies are listed as: state-owned wireline incumbent Nigerian Telecommunications (NITEL) and its mobile arm M-Tel, CDMA network operator Starcomms, Reliance Telecoms (operating as Zoom), Intercellular Nigeria, MTS First Communications, Disc Communications, WiTel, O’Net (Odua Telecom), Rainbownet, Monarch Communications, XS Broadband, Webcom and IPNX. According to the NCC’s most recently published subscriber figures, four active GSM operators (MTN, Globacom, Airtel and Etisalat) claimed a total of 124.88 million customers as at 31 March 2014, while only two active CDMA mobile operators – Visafone and Multilinks – remained, between them accounting for 2.039 million customers. In the fixed/fixed-wireless market, the regulator said that only five out of 18 operators were now classed as active, with total fixed/fixed-wireless users standing at just 172,963 at end-March 2014.