First 15 locations set to switch over to NBN

23 May 2014

Around 19,000 families and businesses in 15 communities across Australia are set to complete the transition to the National Broadband Network (NBN), the company tasking with overseeing the project, NBN Co, has announced. With existing fixed line services provided over infrastructure owned by incumbent PTO Telstra to be switched off today, the locations have been named as: Armidale, Minnamurra and Kiama Downs in New South Wales; South Morang and Brunswick in Victoria; Townsville, Aitkenvale and Mundingburra in Queensland; Willunga in South Australia; and Deloraine, George Town, Kingston Beach, Sorell, St Helens and Triabunna in Tasmania.

NBN Co has, however, been keen to stress that the move to the NBN is not automatic, and has urged home and business owners to ensure they have taken the necessary steps to connect to the new fibre infrastructure. To that end, John Simon, NBN Co’s chief customer officer, noted: ‘The overwhelming majority of people in the affected areas have made the switch to the NBN over the 18 months since the countdown began and are enjoying the benefits of fast broadband … Any family or business that is yet to make the switch can choose to place an order with their preferred phone company or internet service provider or they can stick with a mobile or other wireless solution. The choice is up to them. But we are working hard with the industry to ensure that no-one in these areas who wants the NBN is left behind.’

Australia, NBN Co, Telstra (incl. Belong)