TeleGeography Logo

Telecoms, ICT ministries merge

11 Feb 2014

With effect from 10 February 2014, Bangladesh’s Ministry of Posts & Telecommunications (MoPT) and Ministry of Information & Communication Technology (MoICT) have merged to form the Ministry of Posts, Telecommunications & Information Technology. The enlarged ministry consists of the Posts & Telecommunications Division and the Information & Communication Technology (ICT) Division.

The Posts & Telecommunications Division (initially retaining the MoPT website includes several subordinate organisations, among them: the Bangladesh Telecommunication Regulatory Commission (BTRC); Bangladesh Telecommunications Company Limited (BTCL); Bangladesh Submarine Cable Company Limited (BSCCL) and mobile operator Teletalk Bangladesh.

The ICT Division (initially retaining the MoICT website has responsibility for subordinate organisations including: Bangladesh Computer Council (BCC); Controller of Certifying Authorities (CCA, overseer of digital signature projects under the Digital Bangladesh programme); and the Bangladesh Hi-tech Park Authority (BHTPA).

The ICT Division’s website notes that the department was split from the Ministry of Science & ICT in December 2011 to form the MoICT to ‘give more thrust’ to the ICT sector, while it calls the latest move to integrate the ICT/telecoms ministries ‘evidence of understanding of the importance of ICT [at] the highest policy level and also an indication that the government is keen to keep pace with [the] modern changing world.’

Bangladesh, Ministry of Posts, Telecoms & Information Technology (MoPTI)

GlobalComms Database

Want more? Peruse the GlobalComms Database—the most complete source of intel about mobile, fixed broadband, and fixed voice markets.


TeleGeography is the definitive source for telecom news, numbers, and analysis. Explore the full research catalog.