Mobilis launches 3G in nine 'optional' provinces

4 Feb 2014

Algerian mobile operator Mobilis has announced that the company has been certified by telecoms watchdog the Autorite de Regulation de la Poste et des Telecoms (ARPT) to deploy commercial 3G services in nine ‘optional’ wilayas (provinces), following an evaluation of its coverage and quality of service (QoS) obligations, as outlined in Decision No.1/SP/PC/ANRT/2014, dated 8 January 2014. According to a press release, Mobily has launched its 3G network in nine additional provinces, namely: Setif, Tlemcen, Blida, Djelfa, Tizi-Ouzou, El Oued, Tiaret, Tebessa and Ain Defla, increasing its total footprint to 19 wilayas. Further, the company has reaffirmed its commitment to provide 3G coverage in 48 provinces by end-2015.

As previously reported by TeleGeography’s CommsUpdate, the watchdog issued the final licences for the provision of 3G services in the country to all three applicants – Mobilis, Ooredoo Algeria (Nedjma) and Djezzy – on 3 December 2013. Mobilis was granted exclusivity in the towns of Batna and Laghouat and must also cover Algiers, Constantine, Ouargla, Oran, Annaba, Tipaza, Biskra, Sidi Bel Abbes, Setif, Tlemcen, Blida, Tizi-Ouzou, Djelfa, El Oued, Tiaret, Tebessa and Ain Defla by the end of its first year of operation.