BTP of Curacao overhauls number range for regional telcos

9 Oct 2013

According to the most recent operational bulletin published by the International Telecommunication Union (ITU), the Bureau of Telecommunications and Post (BTP) of Curacao has deactivated certain number ranges belonging to Saba-based Satel and Bonaire-based Telbo. However, both companies have been given new mobile number ranges, alongside Digicel Bonaire and Eutel of Sint Eustatius. Further, in its local market the BTP has issued UTS Curacao (Setel), Flow Curacao and Digicel Curacao with new fixed number allocations, with Digicel also the recipient of a new mobile number range.

According to TeleGeography’s GlobalComms Database, the country code +599 was originally assigned to the Netherlands Antilles (formally dissolved on 10 October 2010), and is now in use by Curacao and Bonaire, Sint Eustatius and Saba (collectively known as the BES Islands or the Caribbean Netherlands). Aruba and Sint Maarten discontinued using the +599 code in 1986 and 2011, respectively. Aruba now uses country code +297, while Sint Maarten adopted the North American Numbering Plan (NANP) country code +1 (with area code 721) in September 2011.

Previously, on 12 October 2006 the Netherlands mainland government reached an agreement with Bonaire, Sint Eustatius and Saba to make these islands special municipalities, while Curacao and Sint Maarten were granted autonomy on 3 November 2006.