EE brings 4G services to another eleven towns

28 Jun 2013

UK wireless operator EE has announced another expansion of its LTE network footprint, with the cellco naming eleven new locations across the country where customers can now access 4G services. The locations are: Aldershot, Basildon, Basingstoke, Bracknell, Hitchin, Horsham, Leatherhead, Letchworth, Stevenage, Warrington and Weston-super-Mare. As a result of this round of expansion, EE has noted that its 4G network is now available in a total of 85 towns and cities across the UK, covering more than 55% of the population.

As previously reported by CommsUpdate, earlier this month EE outlined plans for the next phase of its 4G network rollout as it revealed that more than half a million subscribers have now signed up for its LTE-based services. With this latest announcement regarding coverage expansion, EE has made good on its previous suggestion that it would reach 55% population coverage by end-June 2013. Looking ahead, the cellco has said it is aiming for 98% coverage by the end of 2014, while in terms of specific rollout targets for 2013 it has named a number of ‘key towns and cities’, including: Aberdeen, Bath, Bournemouth, Brighton, Cambridge, Ipswich, Middlesbrough, Northampton, Norwich, Poole, Plymouth, Portsmouth, Swansea and York. Meanwhile, EE is expected to introduce its ‘double-speed’ 4G in ten cities soon, with the technology improvement expected to boost downlink speeds to 80Mbps, more than double the average 24Mbps-30Mbps that it currently offers. The first locations that will benefit from the speed increases have been named as: Birmingham, Bristol, Cardiff, Edinburgh, Glasgow, Leeds, Liverpool, London, Manchester and Sheffield.

United Kingdom, EE