Iran, GCC states agree multi-band mobile spillover pact

21 Mar 2013

The Gulf Cooperation Council (GCC) member states – comprising Bahrain, Kuwait, Oman, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, and United Arab Emirates – have reportedly reached an agreement between themselves and one other non-GCC country, Iran, over ‘mobile services spillover’. Trade Arabia, quoting a statement from Bahrain’s Ministry of State for Communications (MoSC), writes that the coordination agreement involves the following frequency bands: 880MHz-915MHz, 925MHz-960MHz, 1710MHz-1785MHz, 1805MHz-1880MHz, 1920MHz-1980MHz and 2110MHz-2170MHz. The statement reads: ‘Technical and administrative measures had to be adopted to resolve the interference issue in the above-mentioned frequency bands and radio services, due to special meteorological conditions in the region and radio ducting which can increase the probability of interference. At the same time the prediction of propagation of electromagnetic waves becomes more difficult’. Sheikh Fawaz bin Mohammed Al Khalifa, Bahrain’s communications minister, added: ‘If we don’t enact stronger cooperation in the region, Bahraini consumers who live close to borders may have their mobile phone switch over to a carrier in a neighbouring country, which means they’d be billed for long-distance rates. This agreement will help eliminate these concerns’. The offices of the new GCC Telecom Bureau will be located in Bahrain, the report adds.

Bahrain, Iran, Kuwait, Oman, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, United Arab Emirates