MTN LTE network now up and running in Pretoria, Durban, Jo’burg

5 Dec 2012

MTN South Africa’s Long Term Evolution (LTE) network went live on Saturday 1 December, reports. The initial rollout covers the following areas: Menlyn, Centurion, Pretoria East, Hatfield and Midrand (all Pretoria); Sandton, Rosebank, Fourways, Roodepoort, Fairlands, and OR Tambo International Airport (all Johannesburg); Westville, Pinetown, Kloof, Hillcrest, Tongaat, Queensburgh, Amanzimtoti King Shaka International Airport and Umhlanga (all Durban). MTN has reportedly deployed a total of 1,600 base stations across the three cities.

South Africa, MTN South Africa