Eircom outlines Phase 3 of fibre rollout

25 Sep 2012

Ireland’s former monopoly operator Eircom has announced the locations for Phase 3 of its ongoing fibre rollout project, which is slated to go live in 2013. According to online news portal SiliconRepublic, the next phase of the telco’s rollout plan will target 125,000 households and businesses in eight counties across the Republic. The communities covered under Phase 3, which is scheduled to being this winter and be completed by Easter 2013, include: Churchfield (Cork City); Waterford City, Kilkenny City, Sligo Town, Mullingar (Co Westmeath), Tralee (Co Kerry), Westport (Co Mayo); Crown Alley, Dolphin’s Barn, Nutley and Beggars Bush, Coolock (Dublin City); and Balbriggan, (Co Dublin).

Eircom’s incoming chief executive officer Herb Hribar is quoted as saying that Phase 3 will increase the number of locations served with fibre to 40, serving around 350,000 premises with minimum connection speeds of 40Mbps when it goes live next year.

Phase 1 of the fibre deployment was announced in August 2011, covering more than 100,000 homes and businesses in the areas of: Mervue (Galway); Douglas (Cork); Dooradoyle (Limerick); Tallaght, Ballyboden, Palmerstown, Swords, and Donabate (Co Dublin); Clonee (Co Meath); and Letterkenny (Co Donegal). Then, in April 2012, the carrier unveiled that Phase 2 of the project was underway and that once completed, the rollout will increase overall coverage to 250,000 homes and businesses in 27 areas, including: Shantalla (Galway); Quaker Rd (Cork); Limerick City; Rathedmond (Sligo); Ballincollig (Cork); Belcamp, Dun Laoghaire, and Rochestown (Co Dublin); Ennis (Co Clare); Drogheda (Co Louth); Bray (Co Wicklow); Ballina and Castlebar (Co Mayo).

Ireland, eir