Telecom regulators from six east European nations form new association

13 Sep 2012

On 11 September the presidents of telecoms regulatory authorities in six eastern European countries (Armenia, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Georgia, Moldova and Ukraine, the members of the cooperative within the Eastern Partnership [EaP]) met to sign a memorandum of understanding (MoU) establishing a new association – the Network of EaP Electronic Communications Regulators. Telecompaper writes that in signing the MoU the new members also discussed regulatory proposals for the associations work plan for next year, which will hopefully be approved and adopted when they next meet in Kyiv at end-January 2013. The stated objectives of the EaP Regulators Network are to increase cooperation between EaP and EU regulators, and to coordinate regulatory principles between member states in order to ‘improve the efficiency and predictability of their regulatory activity’.

Armenia, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Georgia, Moldova, Ukraine