EC pursuing penalties for five countries a year after rules implementation deadline

6 Jun 2012

The European Commission (EC) has decided to refer five European Union (EU) member states – Belgium, The Netherlands, Poland, Portugal and Slovenia – to the EU Court of Justice for failure to implement revised EU telecoms rules into their national laws, the official deadline for which passed on 25 May 2011. In a statement on 31 May 2012 the EC proposed a daily penalty payment to be imposed on each member state, to be paid as from the date of the court’s ruling until full transposition of the rules into national law. The amended rules are aimed at guaranteeing more competitive markets for consumers and businesses, and giving EU customers new rights, such as switching their phone operator in one day without changing their number or being informed without delay when their personal data is stolen online. Daily penalties are proposed as follows: Poland EUR112,000 (USD140,000); Netherlands EUR106,000; Belgium EUR70,000; Portugal EUR22,000; and Slovenia EUR13,000.

Belgium, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Slovenia