UK government makes further broadband funding available

8 May 2012

The UK government has unveiled a list of 27 cities which are eligible for a share of funds amounting to GBP50 million (USD81 million) to aid the deployment of high speed broadband infrastructure. More detailed bidding guidance will be published by 18 May with the winning cities announced in autumn. The move follows an earlier funding announcement of GBP100 million for ten of the largest cities in the UK. The government wants to ensure all homes and business have access to a minimum 2Mbps broadband connection by 2015, with 90% able to achieve speeds of 25Mbps or above. The 27 cities are: Aberdeen, Brighton & Hove, Cambridge, Chelmsford, Coventry, Derby, Dundee, Exeter, Gloucester, Kingston upon Hull, Leicester, Londonderry / Derry, Newport, Norwich, Oxford, Perth, Peterborough, Plymouth, Portsmouth, Preston, Salford, Southampton, Stoke-on-Trent, Sunderland, Swansea, Wolverhampton and York.

United Kingdom