Government of Antigua and Barbuda mulls joining ECTEL

2 Apr 2012

The government of Antigua and Barbuda is considering becoming a member of the regional telecoms watchdog the Eastern Caribbean Telecommunications Authority (ECTEL), which currently comprises five nations – the Commonwealth of Dominica, Grenada, St Kitts and Nevis, Saint Lucia, St Vincent and the Grenadines. Antigua and Barbuda’s Ministry of Information’s New Media Unit is understood to have made the announcement. The benefits of ECTEL are clear: the body is committed to creating a fully liberalised and transparent telecoms industry in each member nation, with a focus on increasing competition for the delivery of efficient and affordable telecommunications services.

Antigua and Barbuda, ECTEL Dominica