TeleGeography Logo

StarHub enlists in APG cable consortium

15 Jun 2009

Singaporean telecoms group StarHub joined forces with the consortium set up to develop the Asia-Pacific Gateway (APG) submarine cable system that will link the Asia-Pacific region. Once completed, APG will span 8,000km linking eight countries, namely Malaysia, Singapore, Thailand, Vietnam, Hong Kong, the Philippines, Taiwan, China, Japan and South Korea. The link will utilise Dense Wavelength Division Multiplexing (DWDM) technology with a minimum design capacity of 4Tbps of data bandwidth. The other carriers in the APG consortium are Chunghwa Telecom (Taiwan), China Telecom (China), China Unicom (China), KT Corporation (South Korea), NTT Communications (Japan), PLDT (Philippines), Telekom Malaysia (Malaysia) and VNPT (Vietnam).

Singapore, StarHub

GlobalComms Database

Want more? Peruse the GlobalComms Database—the most complete source of intel about mobile, fixed broadband, and fixed voice markets.


TeleGeography is the definitive source for telecom news, numbers, and analysis. Explore the full research catalog.