Mobile-8 expands Fren coverage to four more provinces

30 Nov 2007

CDMA operator Mobile-8 Telecom says it is expanding service coverage into the main cities of West Sumatra, Riau, Lampung and North Sulawesi to meet rising demand for its Fren mobile service in the four provinces. Currently, Mobile-8’s 800MHz network is available in nine provinces: Jakarta, West Java, Central Java, East Java, Bali, South Sulawesi, South Kalimantan, North Sumatra, South Sulawesi and South Sumatra. The operator has signed up around 2.6 million subscribers and hopes to up this to four million by the end of the year, rising to eight million by end-2008. Mobile-8 plans to launch its service in 15 more areas in Java, Sumatra and Kalimantan, it said in a statement.

Indonesia, Mobile-8 Telecom