Eleven banks short listed for Telstra sale

17 Jan 2006

The Australian government has short listed eleven banks to oversee the planned sale of USD20 billion worth of shares in state-run fixed line incumbent Telstra later this year. The sale itself still hangs in the balance, but the government is expected to decide whether to push ahead with the disposal of all or part of its 51.8% stake in the telco before the end of the first quarter of this year. The short listed institutions are: Citigroup Global Markets Australia, Commonwealth Securities, Credit Suisse First Boston Australia, Daiwa Securities SMBC Europe, Deutsche Bank AG, JP Morgan Australia, Lehman Brothers, Morgan Stanley Dean Witter Australia, Nomura International, RBC Capital Markets and Société Générale.

Australia, Telstra (incl. Belong)