Nine countries warned for failing to liberalise markets

13 Oct 2005

The EU has charged nine European countries with failing to open up their telecoms markets to competition. Belgium, the Czech Republic, Cyprus, Estonia, Latvia, Luxembourg and Poland were all warned for not sending EU regulators their reviews of their markets, while Cyprus and Slovenia were charged for not guaranteeing the independence of the national regulator and Malta received a warning for not obeying an EU order to allow customers to keep their phone number when changing operators. The EU said that the penalties are crucial in the promotion of competition. Governments in the nine countries have two months to respond.